Governance at Great Marsden St John’s Primary

Our school converted to be a sponsored Academy on 31st July 2015. At the time, and for the previous 11 months, an IEB (Interim Executive Board) appointed by the Department for Education was steering the process towards becoming an academy as well as supporting school improvement.

On the 14th September 2015, the IEB signed off the academy process, formally dissolved and the new Local Governing Committee came into being. In the Cidari Multi Academy Trust the Board of Directors govern and oversee the management and administration of the Company (Cidari) and of the academies run by Cidari. They are accountable to external agencies including the Charity Commission, the Department for Education and, as we are a Church of England Academy, the Blackburn Diocesan Board of Education. In order to discharge these responsibilities, the Directors determine the membership of the Local Governing Committee. How this will happen is detailed in The Scheme of Delegation and the Articles of Association. More information can be found about Cidari at

Scheme of Delegation – updated September 2016

Our current Local Governing Committee is made up of eight people. Four are Foundation Governors;   Mrs Barnes, Mr Stone, Mr Palfrey and Canon Durham.  Two are Parent Governors; Mr Sansam and Mrs Bevan .  Two are staff Governors; Miss Jefferies and Mrs Underwood.   You can read more about each member below.

Ian Palfrey

Foundation Governor
01.01.18 – present

Anne Barnes

Foundation Governor and Vice Chair

Canon Daphne Durham

Chair of local Governing body

Michaela Underwood


Ralph Stone

Vice-Chair of the local Governing body

Katie Jefferies

Staff Governor

Martin Sansam

Parent Governor

Jessica Bevan

Parent Governor

Governance Interests